Good Morning Energy Shake

20130725_105330
I woke up this morning with an achy neck. I’ll have to review my food journal from yesterday to see what food(s) could have caused a delayed reaction. My body felt achy and heavy overall and my mood was low. I just didn’t feel so great. I knew I would need to do some cleansing to get things moving in my body. I planned to drink a lot of water and tried to do some mild stretching and exercise to work some of the stiffness out. I started on my plan, drank a lot of water, and did some walking. Nothing too jarring. My tummy was really growling by now so I made a morning smoothie. I made a simple banana mango smoothie with a 1/2 tsp of Lucuma powder. Lucuma powder is an Incan superfood and is packed with vitamins and minerals, some of which include antioxidants, carotenes, and vitamin B3.

After my breakfast smoothie, my mood immediately improved and I got a nice burst of energy. I felt like I had had a cup of coffee, but I haven’t had coffee in almost a year. This smoothie gave me a nice bump in energy that I really needed today. It’s amazing how raw, healthy food can make you feel so alive. I had energy to start my day, to clean and work on projects. No stimulants needed! My body aches decreased as well and should improve with more movement and drinking throughout the day. Now for some chores before I go boating this afternoon. I’ve learned that listening and attending to my body first helps improve my days. I know it’s hard with busy lives and busy schedules, but for me it’s necessary. I plan to listen to my body throughout the day and not push it too hard. I hope you will listen to your body as well. Until next time…be kind to yourself everyone!

~Lola Jane

Leave a Reply

